Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the Crown entity responsible for the governance and the control of the management of the school. It is responsible for student achievement (monitored through data and analysis in the Principal's report) and setting the strategic direction of the school (through our charter and policies).

Board meetings are generally held on the third and eighth Thursday of every school term, with an extra meeting in the first week of term 1 and the sixth week of term 4.  Notice of meetings is in the school newsletter.

Elections are held every three years and any parent or community member may stand as long as they are nominated by a parent or caregiver of a currently enrolled student.  The BOT recently adopted the staggered election cycle which means that 3 parent representative trustees are elected in a trienniel election year (any year divisible by 3), and 2 parent representative trustees are elected during a mid-term election.   

If you think you might be interested in becoming a Board member please check out this 3 minute video from the New Zealand School Trustees Association (NZSTA):

Our current Board of Trustees are:

Raylene Franks

Raylene has been Principal at GO School since 2007. While the BOT determines the “what” in terms of GO School's strategic direction and goals, as CEO Raylene is in charge of the “how”, through her role of managing the school to meet our strategic and achievement goals.

Meg Gloyn

Meg is serving the board for a second term as an elected parent representative trustee.   As Board Chair, she assumes the role of spokesperson for the Board.  Her role includes running the BOT meetings, meeting regularly with the Principal, overseeing school policy reviews, helping with the school website, and making sure that Board work gets done.



Claire Pedley

Claire is a parent representative trustee, elected in 2016, and looks after Public Relations and Health and Safety.  She organises sponsorship for GO School newsletters, liaises with the Principal on Health & Safety concerns, and helps look after the school website and facebook page.

Marcel Holtslag

Marcel is a parent representative trustee, elected in 2016, who oversees our Property portfolio.  His role includes monitoring any property issues at the school,  overseeing the preparation and implementation of our 5 & 10 Year Property Plans, and  liaising with a Ministry of Education approved Project Manager with the Principal & Chair.

Denise Ebbett

Denise teaches the Y3 & 4 students in Room 2 and is serving her second term on the Board of Trustees.  As the Staff trustee, Denise brings a staff perspective to board decision-making.

Andy Davis

Andy has been elected onto the board for a second term as a parent representative trustee.  She is our Finance trustee (and Deputy Chair) and works together with the Principal and Office Administrator on monitoring and preparing the budget and reporting on finance to the board.

Cam McKelvie

Cam is a parent representative trustee, selected onto the board at the end of Term 1, 2018.  He is the trustee who oversees grant applications, seeking additional funds to help supplement our operational funding from the Ministry of Education.